Buy your magazine locally:
Find a stockist HERE
%PM, %16 %674 %2015 %15:%Feb

Pole Fishing Win Thorne

PF team top the Bait-Tech Pro Natural League.
The Pole Fishing team, made up of Matt Godfrey, Tom Scholey and Lee Kerry, have won the Bait-Tech Pro Natural Thorne Teams Of Three league on the Stainforth & Keadby Canal.

The team –which finished with a final weight of 150lb 12.5 oz, have won four out of the five rounds, and finished over 25lb clear of second place, picking up £900 cash for their efforts

Leading from the front was Matt Godfrey, who won the last match individually with a 14-8-0 net. Matt, who has framed in four of the five rounds individually, caught on the teams key tactic – rotating swims with bloodworm and joker.

Second in the team stakes and picking up £660 by the narrowest of margins was Alan Scotthorne, Oliver Scotthorne and Gavin Liversedge. The team finished with 123-2-8, just half an ounce clear of third placed team, Callum Dicks, Simon Fields and Frankie Gianoncelli, who picked up £450.

The final money place was filled by Sensas North, comprising John Freeborn, Paul Slack and Bryan Hawkes, they had a final weight of 118-0-0, and picked up £220.

There were also groundbait prizes, generously sponsored  by Bait-Tech. Bags of Pro Natural groundbait were awarded to the runner up teams, as well as special prizes for those who have supported the league from the beginning.

League co-organsier, Lee Kerry said: “It has been another great winters fishing at Thorne, with between 40 and 65 anglers attending every round, and winning weights ranging from to 13lb to almost 17lb.

The league has been particularly exciting this year as well, with nine teams in contention of making the frame going into the last round.  As organisers, we cannot ask for any more than that!”

Full Result:


1st L Kerry T Scholey M Godfrey 150 12.5
2nd A Scotthorne O Scotthorne G Liversedge 123 3
3rd F Gianoncelli S Fields C Dicks 123 2.5
4th J Freeborn B Hawkes P Slack 118 0
5th A Chisholme N Bull N Hughes 116 4
6th D Brookes J Dent A Geldart 113 5
7th K Wainwright H Dagnall S Stockley 109 6
8th C Hughes S Ashby E Warren 100 14
9th S Barraclough B Roberts D Frost 98 3
10th P Daly N Crooks M Bower 90 6
11th Wanger L Harrison R Pulford 86 1.5
12th Higgy Matt Parkin Stu Burdekin 83 6
13th P Kitwood P Kerr G Smith 80 13.5
14th J Abbot A Dowd K Smith 75 3.5
15th I Chadburn AHarrison B Clarke 26 9


1 Matt Godfrey
2 Lee Kerry
3 Cam Hughes
4 Frankie Gianoncelli
5 Tom Scholey
6 John Freeborn

Other titlesmf magfeedermatch livepf plusthink fishing